Cleopatra

La femme la plus célèbre du monde antique est Cleopatra. Déjà à notre époque, son image grâce aux films et aux romans a acquis une sorte de touche romantique. Cleopatra est considérée comme une beauté idéale et un amoureux dévoué. L’histoire de sa vie et de sa mort a inspiré de nombreux écrivains, artistes, réalisateurs. Beaucoup de filles rêvent même de répéter la «carrière» de la reine égyptienne, avec une autre, bien sûr, la finale.

Cleopatra est considérée non seulement comme une femme belle, mais aussi déterminée et intelligente. Seulement il faut noter que les légendes sur les mérites de la reine sensuelle ont commencé à se former après sa mort. À différentes époques, Cleopatra avait l’air différent, selon les vues du public. Elle semblait une règle juste avec des victoires d’amour, il s’est avéré être une beauté intelligente avec un adversaire fort, et même un carrièreur calculant, qui a pleinement utilisé tous ses talents et ses données naturelles.

En réalité, tout était beaucoup plus compliqué et pas si romantique. Cleopatra VII Philopator réussit à être mariée à ses deux frères plus jeunes, elle était la mère de quatre enfants et c’était la fin de la dynastie. Il s’avère que pratiquement tout ce que nous savons de cette femme vraiment extraordinaire est un mythe.

Cleopatra

Cleopatra était égyptienne.

Cleopatra a représenté la dynastie ptolémaïque, qui est encore considéré comme grec ou macédonien. Fondé ce genre d’allié d’Alexandre de Macédoine, le commandant de Ptolémée. Selon la légende, il était même lié au grand conquérant lui-même. Après que les Macédoniens ont capturé l’Égypte, c’est Ptolémée qui a été nommé satrape ou souverain de cet ancien pays. Il a fondé sa dynastie, dont les représentants ont porté la pureté du sang, épousant leurs propres soeurs. Il y a des informations selon lesquelles la mère de Cléopâtre pourrait être une sorte de concubine sans nom, mais en général, la nationalité de la reine peut être tracée facilement. Le dernier représentant de la dynastie Ptolemaïque n’était pas un égyptien à sang pur, mais plutôt un Macédonien ou même un Grec au sens large.

Cleopatra a parlé dans sa langue égyptienne native.

Au crédit de Cléopâtre elle-même, il convient de noter qu’elle était presque le seul représentant de sa dynastie, qui a commencé à enseigner la langue des personnes soumises à elle. Pour la première fois dans les 300 ans de règne ptolémaïque, leur représentant a parlé aux Egyptiens dans leur langue. Plutarque a également écrit que la reine, en plus de l’égyptienne, possédait également des langues juives, arabes, syriaques, éthiopiennes, perses et autres. Mais sa langue maternelle était encore grecque, comme pour tous les Ptolémés. Et avec César, la beauté était probablement expliquée dans sa langue maternelle, il le connaissait très bien. Mais Cléopâtre ne parlait pas le latin.

Cleopatra était une reine autocratique.

Formalement, Cleopatra était en effet la reine d’Egypte. Cependant, elle ne possédait tout le pouvoir que de temps à autre, et il n’était pas nécessaire de parler de la gestion à part entière d’un état indépendant. Dans le monde antique, les femmes en général ont toujours eu un rôle secondaire. Ainsi, en Egypte, pour régner de manière indépendante, Cleopatra ne pouvait tout simplement pas. Après la mort de son père, elle a partagé le trône avec son frère de 9 ans, Ptolémée XIII, devenant sa femme officielle. Mais même dans ce statut, la femme de 17 ans ne pouvait pas obtenir le pouvoir – au nom du pharaon, les courtisans ont réellement expulsé Cleopatra de la capitale. Seul Gaius Jules César a réussi à revenir au trône de la jeune reine, en devenant son amant. L’Égypte, bien que riche, n’avait pas l’indépendance. Le pays était le statut de vassal le plus important de Rome militante. César apparut ici très opportunément en compagnie de légionnaires. Le frère et le mari de la beauté déshonorée ont immédiatement été retirés du pouvoir, et un autre jeune frère, Ptolémée XIV, est monté sur le trône. Sa femme est officiellement devenu Cleopatra. En fait, elle vivait avec César. Son règne, l’Egypte ne peut être appelée indépendante, parce que la reine en tout subordonné à son patron puissant. César n’a même pas hésité à appeler son souverain «indépendant» d’un pays étranger.Et la période de la règle de Cléopâtre après la mort de son amoureux a été marquée par le début du pillage de la population locale par les légionnaires. Et la reine ne pouvait rien faire avec eux, jusqu’à ce que Rome soit intervenue. Son prochain amant, le chef de l’est de l’empire, Mark Antony, donna formellement à Cleopatra plus de puissance. Mais encore une fois, elle devait faire plaisir à Rome. Et la guerre civile qui avait commencé entre Antoine et Octave a détruit la reine elle-même et l’Egypte.

Cleopatra était une belle femme.

Lors de la création du culte de cette femme, une telle déclaration est la pierre angulaire. Mais ces peintures qui nous sont venues de la Renaissance, ont représenté Cléopâtre selon les normes de beauté de l’époque. Changé l’ère, les idéaux changés, et Cleopatra elle-même a acquis de nouvelles fonctionnalités dans les fantasmes des maîtres. Et la perception moderne de la reine s’inspire des images juteuses d’Elizabeth Taylor, Vivien Leigh et Monica Bellucci. Mais personne ne peut dire exactement comment Cleopatra avait l’air exactement. La photo n’a pas encore été inventée, alors ne prenez en compte que les bustes qui sont plus ou moins proches du temps de la vie de la reine. Mais sur ceux qui sont déterminés précisément par son image, elle apparaît comme une femme avec une lèvre inférieure épaisse, un nez crochu et un front étroit. Mais beaucoup plus objectif dans ce cas est l’opinion des contemporains qui ont décrit les normes de l’époque. Et la beauté incroyable de Cléopâtre a commencé à parler quelques siècles après sa mort. Il vaut la peine de dire qu’à cette époque, une rumeur est apparue à propos de l’extrême dépravation de la reine. Les historiens remettent en question ces sources de légendes. Et la plus autorisée est la description de Plutarque. Cleopatra, a-t-il mentionné, racontant dans ses “Biographies comparatives” sur Mark Antony. L’historien a nommé les principaux mérites de la reine la capacité de communiquer, le don de la persuasion et une belle voix. Et la beauté de Cléopâtre n’était pas remarquable et n’a pas frappé à première vue. Il faut prendre en compte que Plutarque habitait près de la période décrite et on croyait qu’il sympathisait aussi avec Cléopâtre. Donc, les chercheurs croient que l’arme principale de Cléopâtre n’était pas sa beauté, mais son esprit et son désir de trouver une langue commune, particulièrement flatteuse pour les hommes. Cléopâtre était de nature sensuelle et romantique.

Il y a une légende sur la façon dont Cleopatra est entré dans les chambres de César – elle a été amenée là-bas enveloppée dans un tapis. Et quand il s’est déroulé, soudain une belle femme est apparue devant le grand commandant. César fut submergé par son courage, devenant l’amoureux de la reine égyptienne. Mais cette histoire romantique a ses propres antécédents. Au moment de la rencontre de Cléopâtre, César lui-même avait déjà plus de 50 ans. Il était un politicien intelligent et résolu qui s’était amélioré à l’intrigue. Mais on ne sait rien de son romantisme. Au contraire, César est devenu célèbre pour ses nombreuses aventures amoureuses, même ses légionnaires ont chanté, de sorte que les habitants cachent leurs femmes, parce que «le Débucheur chauve» entre dans la ville. Dans la lutte pour le trône de charme, Cleopatra a joué un rôle, mais César a également eu son propre calcul froid. Après tout, la reine était complètement dévouée à lui. Que faire avec un adolescent entouré de conseillers, les Romains ont préféré s’occuper d’une belle femme qui a également visité ses chambres. Au fil du temps, César créera une statue dorée à la mémoire de sa maîtresse, mais dans sa volonté ne mentionnera rien non plus sur elle, ni sur son enfant commun, Césion. Mais le prochain amoureux romain de la reine, Mark Antony, est entré dans son réseau beaucoup plus complètement. Certes, cela exigeait une préparation beaucoup plus sérieuse. Cleopatra s’est régalée pendant plusieurs jours avec son ami influent, organisant des réceptions somptueuses. Certes, une telle démonstration de luxe et de richesse a coûté cher à la trésorerie, d’ailleurs la reine a fait de nombreux cadeaux. Anthony s’est avéré plus simple que son prédécesseur. Cleopatra s’est rendu compte que son nouvel élu était plus soldat que le politicien. C’est pourquoi la ligne de conduite appropriée a été choisie. Cleopatra a commencé à plaisanter avec des thèmes militaires sans prétention, pour soutenir Antony dans ses antics hooligan. Alors, il est tombé amoureux de sa charmante petite amie.Mais en fait, plus récemment, Cleopatra a choisi qui serait son nouvel élu, souhaitant choisir le futur gagnant dans les querelles romaines. À la fin, l’opinion correcte sur la «nature romantique» a été faite par l’historien italien Guglielmo Ferrero. Il a décrit Cleopatra comme une personne complètement froide et désintéressée, par nature, pas capable de sentiments sincères.

Cleopatra était une femme idéale.

Après que la Reine ait rencontré César, elle a immédiatement déclenché une guerre intestinale avec son mari légitime et son frère Ptolémée. Tom a dû se battre avec des Romains forts, ce qui a entraîné la mort du pharaon légitime. Et Cléopâtre commença à profiter de la vie avec son patron, César. Arrivée à Rome, elle a immédiatement gagné beaucoup d’ennemis contre les amoureux de son amoureux et même de ses amis. Lorsque la chaleur a atteint un niveau critique, les conspirateurs ont tué César. Cleopatra est retourné en Égypte, où son deuxième épouse légitime, Ptolémée XIV, est mort bientôt. Ils disent qu’il a été empoisonné, mais à qui cette mort était-elle si profitable que Cléopâtre? En soutenant tout le martyr Antony, la reine d’Egypte a commencé à se battre de son côté avec Octavian. Mais elle a aliéné ses amies de l’amant de ses intrigues. La préparation aux combats a été réduite aux fêtes et aux fêtes. Dans la bataille navale décisive près du promontoire, Cleopatra, avec la moitié de la flotte au premier ralenti, puis au moment décisif, et a préféré retirer ses forces. Après avoir précipité le Marc Antony cassé, dont la capitulation n’était qu’une question de temps.

Cleopatra s’est suicidée, incapable de survivre à la mort d’un être cher.

Après la défaite même, Cléopâtre, avec son bien-aimé, est allé à la capitale égyptienne. Il n’y avait aucun espoir de victoire. La reine attendit que Octave vienne. Et pendant qu’elle passait tout son temps libre aux fêtes, promettant de mourir avec Mark Antony. Mais avec l’arrivée des Romains, elle préfère ne pas se précipiter pour accomplir son vœu, alors que son amant s’est suicidé. Cleopatra, cependant, se rendit. Les historiens croient que c’était son prochain tour délicat – alors elle a essayé de séduire déjà Octavian. Mais il était étroitement associé à ses anciens amoureux romains – l’héritier du premier et l’ennemi de la seconde. Seulement maintenant, cette bataille était à l’origine tournée contre elle. Oui, et son temps est déjà passé. Cleopatra avait 39 ans et elle a réussi à donner naissance à quatre enfants à ce moment-là. Octavian n’était pas aussi simple qu’Antony, mais un politicien rusé et prudent. Cleopatra a rapidement compris pourquoi elle était retenue en captivité – les Romains se préparaient à démontrer la reine vaincue au cours de son triomphe. Cleopatra devrait jouer le rôle d’un trophée et d’une exposition précieuse, avec des décorations, des animaux et des plantes bizarres. Alors la reine préférait se tuer avec l’aide du poison, et en même temps ses deux servantes. Ainsi a fini l’histoire de Cléopâtre et de toute la dynastie ptolémaïque, et avec eux l’indépendance de l’Égypte.

Cleopatra n’a reçu aucune éducation spéciale.

En Grèce, il n’a vraiment pas été accepté d’enseigner en quelque sorte aux filles en particulier. Mais en Egypte, les choses étaient différentes. Cleopatra vivait dans le palais royal dans le quartier de la bibliothèque d’Alexandrie, ce qui lui permit d’obtenir une éducation brillante. L’un de ses biographes en général a noté que sa connaissance de la reine inférieure à César. Elle était bien connue dans les domaines de l’arithmétique, de la littérature, de l’astronomie, de la géographie et d’autres sciences. Il est connu que Cleopatra était compétent dans de nombreuses langues, ce qui était également impossible sans une préparation sérieuse. Et elle était le seul représentant de la dynastie, qui parlait dans la langue de ses sujets. Même les ennemis de Cléopâtre ont célébré ses talents oratoires et leur esprit pointu.

Cleopatra était très émancipé.

Et c’est la vérité. Dans l’Egypte ancienne, les femmes avaient les mêmes droits que les hommes. Ils ont hérité des biens en parts égales avec leurs frères, pourraient gérer indépendamment leur propriété et même avoir le droit de divorcer. Destiny avait préparé Cleopatra pour le rôle d’une reine impuissante, mais elle a pu changer la situation.Après la mort de ses maris, Cleopatra a commencé à gérer le pays de manière indépendante, y compris les affaires extérieures. Mais d’autres reines égyptiennes ont gouverné avec leurs maris. Ce sont Nefertiti, la femme d’Achenaton, et Nefertiti, l’épouse de Ramsès II. L’histoire d’amour avec César a été un événement incroyable pour l’époque. Non seulement ils avaient des nationalités différentes, donc ce roman était aussi le choix conscient de la reine. Aucun de ses parents masculins n’a préparé une telle connexion.

Cleopatra était une reine populaire.

Sur la base du nombre de ses images qui sont créées dans la littérature, la peinture, le cinéma, la musique, il ne peut y avoir aucun doute. Mais ils ont apprécié Cleopatra et les contemporains. Elle a très bien réussi à s’occuper des affaires intérieures. Les gens ont soutenu leur reine, son règne a été marqué par l’absence d’émeutes. Dans le papyrus grec 35 ans av. Cleopatra s’appelle seulement Philopatris, c’est-à-dire “aimer sa patrie”. Selon Plutarque, c’était le plus proche des gens de toute la dynastie ptolémaïque. Ce n’est que maintenant que la reine a joué de la politique et a donné aux Romains trop de libertés, que la bourgeoisie grecque a contrariées. Cela a également donné lieu à des souvenirs négatifs de la reine.

Cleopatra

Cleopatra était cruel et impitoyable.

Cette déclaration n’est véridique qu’en partie. D’une part, dans la lutte pour le pouvoir, Cleopatra a été forcée de tuer son second mari et, très probablement, d’autres frères et sœurs. Pour le Hellènes, ce scénario est assez traditionnel. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire de considérer Cléopâtre plus cruel que d’autres à l’époque. Oui, et son père, en même temps, s’est débarassé de ses nombreux concurrents. Mais le mythe de la cruauté de la reine lui a beaucoup survécu. Au XIX siècle, même les légendes apparurent que Cléopâtre offrit une nuit d’amour à tous ceux qui sont prêts à se séparer de la vie pour cela. Très probablement, ce mythe est apparu grâce à Plutarque. Il a écrit que Cleopatra aimait essayer les poisons qu’elle avait créés sur les personnes condamnées à mort.

Cleopatra s’est suicidée en étant mordue par un serpent.

Les derniers moments de la vie de la reine légendaire et les circonstances de sa mort restent mystérieux. La version la plus courante indique que Cleopatra a préféré se suicider avec l’aide d’un serpent toxique quand elle a appris la mort de Mark Antony. La base de cette légende est le fait que la cobra est un symbole du pouvoir royal. Cependant, si Cleopatra voulait se suicider, elle choisirait clairement une méthode différente, moins douloureuse et plus rapide. Elle était connaisseuse de poisons. Cléopâtre aimerait conserver sa beauté même après la mort. En outre, on raconte que ses nombreux ennemis à Rome ont tout simplement arrangé son empoisonnement, l’installant comme un suicide.

Add a Comment

Cleopatra



The most famous woman of the ancient world is Cleopatra. Already in our time, her image thanks to movies and novels acquired a kind of romantic touch. Cleopatra is considered to be an ideal beauty and a devoted lover. The history of her life and death inspired many writers, artists, directors. Many girls dream of even repeating the “career” of the Egyptian queen, with another, of course, the finale.

Cleopatra is considered not only a beautiful, but also a determined, intelligent woman. Only it should be noted that the legends about the merits of the sensual queen began to form after her death. In different epochs Cleopatra looked different, depending on the public views. She seemed a fair ruler with love victories, it turned out to be a smart beauty with a strong overlord, and even a calculating careerist, who fully used all her talents and natural data.


In reality, everything was much more complicated and not so romantic. Cleopatra VII Philopator managed to be married to her two younger brothers, she was the mother of four children and it was the end of the dynasty. It turns out that practically everything that we know about this really extraordinary woman is myths.

Cleopatra

Cleopatra was an Egyptian.

Cleopatra represented the Ptolemaic dynasty, which is still considered Greek or Macedonian. Founded this kind of ally of Alexander of Macedon, the commander of Ptolemy. According to legend, he even was related to the great conqueror himself. After the Macedonians captured Egypt, it was Ptolemy who was appointed satrap or ruler of this ancient country. He founded his dynasty, whose representatives harbored the purity of blood, marrying their own sisters. There is information that the mother of Cleopatra could be some kind of nameless concubine, but in general the nationality of the queen can be traced easily. The last representative of the Ptolemaic dynasty was not a full-blooded Egyptian, but rather a Macedonian or even a Greek in the broad sense.

Cleopatra spoke in her native Egyptian language.

To the credit of Cleopatra herself, it should be noted that she was almost the only representative of her dynasty, who began to teach the language of the people submissive to her. For the first time in 300 years of Ptolemaic rule, their representative spoke to the Egyptians in their language. Plutarch also wrote that the queen, in addition to Egyptian, also possessed Jewish, Arabic, Syriac, Ethiopian, Persian and other languages. But her native language was still Greek, as for all Ptolemies. And with Caesar the beauty was probably explained in her native language, he knew him very well. But Cleopatra did not speak Latin.

Cleopatra was an autocratic queen.

Formally, Cleopatra was indeed the queen of Egypt. However, she possessed full power only from time to time, and it was not necessary to talk about the full-fledged management of an independent state. In the ancient world, women in general always had a secondary role. So in Egypt – to reign independently, Cleopatra simply could not. After the death of her father, she shared the throne with her 9-year-old brother, Ptolemy XIII, becoming his official wife. But even in this status the 17-year-old woman could not get power – on behalf of the pharaoh the courtiers actually drove Cleopatra out of the capital. Only Gaius Julius Caesar managed to return to the throne of the young queen, becoming her lover. Egypt, although rich, did not have independence. The country was in the status of the most important vassal of militant Rome. Caesar appeared here very opportunely in the company of legionaries. The brother and husband of the disgraced beauty were immediately removed from power, and another young brother, Ptolemy XIV, ascended the throne. His wife officially became Cleopatra. In fact, she lived with Caesar. Her reign Egypt can not be called independent, because the queen in all subordinated to her powerful patron. Caesar even did not hesitate to call to his “independent” ruler of a foreign country.And the period of the rule of Cleopatra after the death of his lover was marked by the beginning of the looting of the local population by the legionaries. And the queen could do nothing with them, until Rome intervened. Her next lover, the ruler of the eastern part of the empire, Mark Antony, formally gave Cleopatra more power. But again she had to please Rome. And the civil war that had begun between Antony and Octavian destroyed the queen herself and Egypt.

Cleopatra was a beautiful woman.

When creating this woman’s cult, such a statement is the cornerstone. But those paintings that came to us from the Renaissance, depicted Cleopatra in accordance with the standards of beauty of the time. Changed the era, changed ideals, and Cleopatra herself acquired new features in the fantasies of the masters. And the modern perception of the queen is inspired by the juicy images of Elizabeth Taylor, Vivien Leigh and Monica Bellucci. But no one can say exactly how Cleopatra looked exactly. The photo was not invented yet, so take into account only busts that are more or less close to the time of the queen’s life. But on those who are determined precisely by her image, she appears as a woman with a thick lower lip, a hooked nose and a narrow forehead. But far more objective in this case is the opinion of contemporaries who described the standards of that time. And the incredible beauty of Cleopatra began talking a couple of centuries after her death. It is worth saying that at that time a rumor appeared about the extreme depravity of the queen. Historians question these sources of legends. And the most authoritative is the description of Plutarch. Cleopatra, he mentioned, telling in his “Comparative Biographies” about Mark Antony. The historian named the main merits of the queen the ability to communicate, the gift of persuasion and a beautiful voice. And the beauty of Cleopatra was not outstanding and did not strike at first sight. It should be taken into account that Plutarch lived close to the period described and it was believed that he also sympathized with Cleopatra. So researchers believe that Cleopatra’s main weapon was not her beauty at all, but her mind and desire to find a common language, which was especially flattering to men. Cleopatra was sensual and romantic in nature.

There is a legend about how Cleopatra got into the chambers of Caesar – she was brought there wrapped in a carpet. And when it was unfolded, suddenly a beautiful woman appeared before the great commander. Caesar was overwhelmed by her courage, becoming the lover of the Egyptian queen. But this romantic story has its own background. At the time of meeting Cleopatra, Caesar himself was already over 50 years old. He was an intelligent and resolute politician who had become better at intrigue. But nothing is known about his romanticism. On the contrary, Caesar became famous for his numerous amorous adventures, even his legionaries sang, so that the inhabitants hide their wives, because “the bald debauchee” enters the city. In the struggle for the throne of charm, Cleopatra played a role, but Caesar also had his own cold calculation. After all, the queen was completely devoted to him. What to do with a teenager surrounded by advisers, the Romans preferred dealing with a beautiful woman who also visited his chambers. Over time, Caesar will create a gilded statue in memory of his mistress, but in his will will not mention anything not about her, nor about their joint child, Caesarion. But the next Roman lover of the queen, Mark Antony, got into her network much more thoroughly. True, this required much more serious preparation. Cleopatra feasted for several days with her influential friend, arranging lavish receptions. True, such a demonstration of luxury and wealth cost the treasury dearly, besides, the queen made many gifts. Anthony proved to be simpler than his predecessor. Cleopatra realized that her new chosen one was more soldier than the politician. That’s why the appropriate line of conduct was chosen. Cleopatra began to joke with unpretentious military themes, to support Antony in his hooligan antics. So he gradually fell in love with his charming girlfriend.But in fact more recently Cleopatra chose who would be her new chosen one, wishing to choose the future winner in the Roman squabbles. In the end, the correct opinion about the “romantic nature” was made by the Italian historian Guglielmo Ferrero. He described Cleopatra as a completely cold and dispassionate person, by nature not capable of sincere feelings.

Cleopatra was an ideal wife.

After the Queen met Caesar, she immediately unleashed an internecine war with her lawful husband and brother Ptolemy. Tom had to fight with strong Romans, which led to the death of the legitimate pharaoh. And Cleopatra began to enjoy life with her patron, Caesar. Arriving in Rome, she immediately gained many enemies from the ill-wishers of her lover and even from his friends. When the heat reached a critical level, the conspirators killed Caesar. Cleopatra returned to Egypt, where her second lawful spouse, Ptolemy XIV, soon died. They say that he was poisoned, but to whom was this death so profitable, as not Cleopatra? Supporting all of Mark Antony, the queen of Egypt began to fight on his side with Octavian. But she alienated her friends from the lover of her intrigues. Preparation for the fighting was reduced to feasts and parties. In the decisive naval battle near the promontory, Cleopatra, with half the fleet at first idle, and then at the decisive moment, and did prefer to withdraw forces. After it rushed the broken Marc Antony, whose surrender was only a matter of time.

Cleopatra committed suicide, unable to survive the death of a loved one.

After the very defeat, Cleopatra, along with her beloved, went to the capital of Egypt. There was no hope of victory. The queen waited for Octavian to come. And while she spent all her free time at feasts, vowing to die with Mark Antony. But with the arrival of the Romans, she preferred not to rush to fulfill her vow, while her lover committed suicide. Cleopatra, however, surrendered. Historians believe that this was her next tricky trick – so she tried to seduce Octavian already. But he was closely associated with her previous Roman lovers – the heir of the first and the enemy of the second. Only now this battle was originally turned against her. Yes, and its time has already passed. Cleopatra was 39 years old, and she managed to give birth to four children by that time. Octavian was not as simple as Antony, but a cunning and prudent politician. Cleopatra quickly realized why she was being held captive – the Romans were preparing to demonstrate the defeated queen in the course of her triumph. Cleopatra would have to play the role of a trophy and a valuable exhibit, along with decorations, outlandish beasts and plants. Then the queen preferred to kill herself with the help of poison, and at the same time her two maids. Thus ended the history of Cleopatra and the entire Ptolemaic dynasty, and with them the independence of Egypt.

Cleopatra did not receive any special education.

In Greece, it really was not accepted to somehow teach girls especially. But in Egypt things were different. Cleopatra lived in the royal palace in the neighborhood of the Alexandria Library, which allowed her to get a brilliant education. One of her biographers in general noted that her knowledge of the queen little inferior to Caesar. She was well versed in the issues of arithmetic, literature, astronomy, geography and other sciences. It is known that Cleopatra was proficient in many languages, which was also impossible without serious preparation. And she was the only representative of the dynasty, which spoke in the language of its subjects. Even the enemies of Cleopatra celebrated her oratorical talents and sharp mind.

Cleopatra was very emancipated.

And this is the truth. In ancient Egypt, women had the same rights as men. They inherited property in equal shares with their brothers, could independently manage their property and even had the right to divorce. Destiny had prepared Cleopatra for the role of a powerless queen, but she was able to change the situation.After the death of her husbands, Cleopatra began to manage the country independently, including external affairs. But other Egyptian queens ruled with their husbands. These are Nefertiti, the wife of Achenaton, and Nefertiti, the wife of Ramses II. The love affair with Caesar was an amazing event for that time. Not only did they have different nationalities, so this novel was also the conscious choice of the queen. None of her male relatives prepared such a connection.

Cleopatra was a popular queen.

Based on the number of her images that are created in literature, painting, cinema, music, there can be no doubt about it. But they appreciated Cleopatra and contemporaries. She managed very well to deal with domestic affairs. The people supported their queen, her reign was marked by the absence of riots. In the Greek papyrus 35 years BC. Cleopatra is called only as Philopatris, that is, “loving his homeland.” According to Plutarch, it was the closest to the people from the whole Ptolemaic dynasty. Only now the queen played politics and gave the Romans too many liberties, which the Greek bourgeoisie angered. This also gave rise to negative memories of the queen.

Cleopatra

Cleopatra was cruel and ruthless.

This statement is truthful only in part. On the one hand, in the struggle for power, Cleopatra was forced to kill her second husband, and, most likely, other brothers and sisters. For the ruling Hellenes, this scenario is quite traditional. So it is not necessary to consider Cleopatra more cruel than there were others in those days. Yes, and her father at the same time got rid of its many competitors. But the myth of the cruelty of the queen has much survived her. In the XIX century, even there were legends about the fact that Cleopatra offered a night of love to everyone who is ready to part with life for this. Most likely, this myth appeared thanks to Plutarch. He wrote that Cleopatra liked to try the poisons she had created on the people sentenced to death.

Cleopatra committed suicide by being bitten by a snake.

The last moments of the life of the legendary queen and the circumstances of her death remain mysterious. The most common version says that Cleopatra preferred to commit suicide with the help of a poisonous snake when she learned about the death of Mark Antony. The basis of this legend is the fact that the cobra is a symbol of royal power. However, if Cleopatra wanted to commit suicide, she would clearly choose a different method, less painful and faster. She was a connoisseur of poisons. Cleopatra would like to preserve her beauty even after death. In addition, it is rumored that her numerous enemies in Rome simply arranged her poisoning, setting her up as suicide.



Add a Comment